Skip to content

2013 Affiliate Awards Recognition

The societies and awards recognized during the 2013 Delaware Valley Engineers Week celebration are:

American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics, Greater Philadelphia Section
Space Systems Award
Darius Brant, Lockheed Martin (Retired)

Lifetime Achievement Award  
Michael “Orville” Markowski, Possibility Press

Ira Cohen Fluid Dynamics Award
Bob Narducci, The Boeing Company

Roland T. Mayer Structural and Mechanical Design Award
Stealth Composites, Inc.

Paul Gorsuch Scholarship  
Jeffrey Ng, Springside Chestnut Hill Academies

American Institute of Chemical Engineers, Delaware Valley Section
Chemical Engineer of the Year  
Sue Schultz, Astra Zeneca

Young Chemical Engineer of the Year  
Thomas J. English, PhD, Solvay

American Society of Civil Engineers. Philadelphia Section
Philadelphia Civil Engineer of the Year  
Joseph P. Martin, PhD, PE, Drexel University

Young Civil Engineer of the Year 
Jeremy Chrzan, PE, Pennoni Associates, Inc.

Environmental/Water Resources Engineer of the Year 
Eve S. D’ Onofrio, PE, ES Design, LLC

Geotechnical Engineer of the Year 
Richard Mabry, PE, GAI Consultants

Engineering Manager of the Year  
Robert L. Milliken, Underground Services, Inc.

Government Service Award
Mark Gale, Philadelphia International Airport

American Society of Highway Engineers, Delaware Valley Section
2011 Project of the Year (Under $10 million)
Upper Black Eddy-Milford Toll Supported Bridge Rehabilitation; Bucks County, PA & Hunterdon County, NJ
Delaware River Toll Bridge Commission (owner); Erdman Anthony (designer); Road Con (contractor); Johnson, Mirmiran and Thompson (inspector)

2011 Project of the Year ($10 million and over)
Gustine Lake Interchange Reconstruction; Philadelphia, PA
Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, District 6-0 (owner); Michael Baker, Jr. Inc. (designer); Buckley and Company (contractor); Urban Engineers, Inc. (inspector)

Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers, Philadelphia Section
Alan L. Kirsch Outstanding Student Member Award    
Clifford Kaelin, Rowan University

Benjamin Franklin Key Award    
Dr. Peter Lelkes, Temple University

Chapter of the Year
Power and Energy/Industry Applications

Delaware Valley Electrical Engineer of the Year    
Celia Holmes, Lockheed Martin Air Force Strategic Programs

Past Chairperson Award    
Emilio M. Salgueiro, Unisys Corporation

Philadelphia Section Member Award    
Robert L. Johnston

Delaware Valley Young Engineers of the Year     
James H. Sturges, Lockheed Martin Air Force Reentry Systems
Justin Alexander, Maida Engineering, Inc.

Philadelphia Section Corporate Innovation Award
Schaevtiz\Fiori Sentient Systems

Section Lifetime Achievement Award
Merrill W. Buckley, Jr.

New Fellows
Ron F. Chu, PhD
Kostas Daniliois, PhD

Institute of Transportation Engineers, Mid-Atlantic Section
2012 MASITE President’s Award
David DiGioia, PE, DiGioia Gray

2012 Project of the Year
US 13 and US 40 Pedestrian Safety Project, New Castle County, DE
Urban Engineers, Inc.

Pennsylvania Society of Professional Engineers, Delaware County Chapter
2013 Engineer of the Year
Brain P. MacEwen, PE, Chester Water Authority  

2013 Lifetime Achievement Award
Charles J. Catania, Sr, PE, PLS, Catania Engineering Associates, Inc.

Women’s Transportation Seminar
Diversity Award    
Lillie Claitt, Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority

Employer of the Year Award    
Johnson, Mirmiran & Thompson

Innovative Transportation Solution Award
I-95 ITS Design-Build Project, Section ITC, Philadelphia, PA
Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, District 6-0; Federal Highway Administration; Carr & Duff; Jacobs

Member of the Year    
Jennifer Duval, AICP, Jacobs

Philadelphia Award    
Charles Davies, PE, Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, District 6-0

Woman of the Year    
Suzanne Boda, US Airways